scroll to top of page

CMC Honors Nurses with Inaugural Legacy Awards

Posted on December 3, 2018

2018 Recipients Celebrated

Cumberland Medical Center recently held its inaugural Nursing Legacy Awards program. Nearly 75 guests attended as the hospital CMC Nursing Legacy Awards 2018reflected to honor its past nurses and recognize its present nurses who exemplify many of the same traits as their nursing predecessors. 

“This ceremony has a very special place in our hearts,” says CMC Chief Nursing Officer Rebecca Foster. “Not only are we fortunate to help care for others, but we also get to work alongside people over the years that have helped mentor and grow us into the nurses we are today.”

As the changes in healthcare and nursing have evolved, the relationships nurses make among one another is a constant thread. The nursing team at CMC collaborated to help identify nurses who have passed away and had a longstanding influence amongst their peers. This established seven Nursing Legacy Awards honoring Clara Belle Davis, LPN; June Graham, HUC; Annette Hankins, RN; Helen Hoover, RN; Helen Justus, RN; Alma Patton, RN; and Marie Sapp, RN.

Nurses receiving their awards as well as the families of those being honored attended. The following nurses received 2018 CMC Nursing Legacy Awards:

Clara Belle Davis, LPN Award was given to someone who exemplified the traits of always seeking to improve while inspiring others to do the same. She started at CMC in 1979 and worked until 2010. The Legacy Award given in her honor was received by Amy Spears, RN who works in the Emergency Department.

June Graham Award was a Health Unit Coordinator (HUC) which is often referred to as the unit secretary. She worked at CMC from 1962 to 2015 and was known for her work’s precision. She demonstrated ownership of her unit and her team’s accuracy. Barbara Walker who works as the HUC in the Med-Surg unit was awarded for demonstrating the same traits as June Graham.

An award honoring Annette Hankins, RN was established for an Emergency Department nurse who exhibits positivity and enthusiasm for themselves and their co-workers. She worked at CMC from 1986 to 2016. Like Annette, her recipient is known for promoting a collegial atmosphere among the emergency department. Ammie Cassetty-Seitner, RN received the inaugural Annette Hankins, RN Legacy Award.

Helen Hoover, RN worked at CMC from 1985 to 2004. She worked in Employee Health, Infection Control, and IV Therapy. She is remembered for exhibiting exemplary standards in her work and the provision of care for patients. Her award is established to honor a nurse who shows an outstanding interest in promoting safety in their work area. Cirreenna McQuiston, LPN who works in Employee Health was awarded this year’s Helen Hoover legacy.

Helen Justus, RN worked at CMC as a nursing supervisor from 1986 to 2007. She exemplified standards of excellence, mentorship, and strong work ethic. The award honoring her legacy was given to Angela Cherry, RN who currently serves as a nursing supervisor. 

Alma Patton, RN worked at CMC from 1959 to 2004. Her award is designated for a registered nurse who exhibits strong mentoring skills for new nurses and displays a role model for professional behavior. This year, Shirley Sherrill, RN who works in Telemetry received Patton’s Legacy Award.

Marie Sapp, RN is honored for her caring and giving attitude toward others. She worked at CMC from 1986 to 2012. Her award’s candidate demonstrates her generosity through organizing and participating in philanthropic activities, and going above and beyond to help co-workers during their times of need outside of their normal job duties. This year’s Marie Sapp, RN Award goes to Noah Baker, RN who works in the Intensive Care Unit.

This inaugural awards ceremony concept was introduced during Nurses Week in May. Moving forward, the Nursing Legacy Award Ceremony at Cumberland Medical Center will be held during Nurses Week on an annual basis.

Pictured left to right front row are: Cirreenna McQuiston, Barbara Walker, and Shirley Sherrill. Back row left to right are: Rebecca Foster, Amy Spears, Angela Cherry, Ammie Cassetty-Seitner, and Noah Baker.


Tags for this post:
, , ,